What’s In Your Backyard

When I helped move my daughter across the country, we made it an official road trip and stopped at the Petrified Forest, The Grand Canyon, and Joshua Park because they were recommended stops using the Roadtrippers app (I also remember one of my besties going there on vacation).  That trip was inspirational, and I’ll never forget it for as long as I live.

It wasn’t until I went to Carlsbad Caverns for my birthday (August 2023) that I decided to do more research on National Parks. According to Google, there are 63 US national parks, but none of them are in my home state!

So, I’ve been low-key looking into how I can move out of Oklahoma so I can be closer to these national parks. (I know I was out of mind because I seriously looking to Utah) However, a creator on Instagram talked about how she moved from the Midwest to Washington State and hated it. According to her, the parks were hard to get to, and they were always too crowded.  Her post (I wish I had bookmarked it) reminded me that I need to take stock of what’s around me because there are probably some incredible parks in my own backyard. 

So, over the next year or two, I’m going to make it a goal to visit all of the state parks in Oklahoma. According to the Stateparks.com, there are 40. Most of these parks are around a two or three-hour drive, but that’s not a big deal. That’s why we got the adventure car. And driving a few hours one way, it’s definitely a lot less work than moving across the country

If you’re from Oklahoma (or the Midwest), what are your favorite state parks?

A picture from Red Rock Canyon State Park Adventure Park. It is not a state park anymore, but it’s a great example of what Oklahoma has to offer

Leave a comment