Why I Write What I Write, Post #14: Alexis Donkin #WriteBitches

“It sounds glorious when I write it like that. But it’s not. It’s not like that at all. It is full of doubt and sacrifice, sweat and tears. But I have to write. Writing is a compulsion, otherwise I would not choose this path.”

Write Bitches

Alexis got in touch with me after learning about our series on Twitter, and can I just say, I found that really exciting. Thanks so much for jumping in with us, Alexis! It’s all yours…

♥ ♥ ♥

heartbeatwords2

A long time ago, poets were so revered, it was said no one should cross them. This is because words create reality – and it is impossible to kill an idea. Once a poet unleashed his or her words, there was no taking them back. This is the power of voice – and of the pen.

When I started writing, I didn’t know what I was doing. I had an idea that had been bouncing around my skull for maybe a decade and no more excuses. I was unemployed, alone in a dark apartment. So I sat in front of my laptop and started typing. I worked for fifteen hours straight. I slept. I wrote another fifteen…

View original post 616 more words

Leave a Reply

